Page 38 - Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements
P. 38

Supplemental Remarks
Alabama No fee shall be required for law student registration if the registration form is  led within the  rst 60 days following the commencement of the study of law. After 60 days the fee is $50, after 180 days the fee is $100, and after 390 days the fee is $250. Any applicant for admission (by examination, UBE score transfer, or reciprocity) will be required to pay a law student nonregistration fee of $250 if the applicant has never regis- tered as a law student with the Alabama State Bar.
California Bar exam fees are separate from moral character application. A positive moral character determination is valid for 3 years. Thus, if a repeater has positive determination on  le, the exam fee would be $677 (general applicant) or $983 (attorney applicant).
Delaware For applications  led on or before April 1: $700 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction and for repeaters; $800 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction. For applications  led after April 1 but on or before May 1: $1,400 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction and for repeaters; $1,600 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction and for repeaters.
Florida The law student registration fee is $400. Discounted early law student registration fees are available: $100 for those who commence in August or September and  le by January 15; $350 for those who commence in August or September and  le by March 15. Law students also pay a $600 fee to convert the student registration to an application in the  nal year of law school. Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,600 for those admitted more than 1 year but less than 5 years; $2,000 for those admitted 5 or more years but less than 10 years; $2,400 for those admitted 10 or more years but less than 15 years; $3,000 for those admitted 15 or more years.
Georgia There is a separate fee for the Application for Certi cation of Fitness to Practice Law. The fee ranges from $400 to $900 depending upon the status of the applicant at the time of submission. The applicant must apply for and receive Certi cation of Fitness to Practice Law prior to submitting an application for the bar examination.
Idaho Bar exam fee for repeaters is $200 for the  rst 3 exams; $300 for each subsequent one.
Illinois Bar exam fee is based on whether or not the applicant has previously  led an application for the Illinois exam, had  led character and  tness registration as a 1L, is repeating the exam, or was absent from an exam. Fee ranges from $950 to $1,450, except for repeaters, for whom range is from $500 to $850. Deadline ranges for repeaters are November 1 to December 15 for the February exam, and May 1 to May 15 for the July exam.
Iowa Law student registration fee is $50 if the person registers by January 15 of the year after the person commences the study of law in an accredited law school. The law student registration fee is $150 if this deadline is not met but if the registration is on  le by December 1 immediately preceding the registrant’s July examination or July 1 immediately preceding the registrant’s February examination. If the second deadline is
not met, the law student registration fee is $250 if the registration is on  le by April 1 immediately preceding the registrant’s July examination or November 1 immediately preceding the registrant’s February examination.
Louisiana Bar exam application fee is $750 for  rst-time applicants who participated in the Law Student Registration program; $875 for all applicants other than those who participated in the Law Student Registration program.
Maine Bar exam fee for non-attorneys includes those admitted less than 1 year in another jurisdiction. Maryland The $525 bar exam fee applies to timely  ling. The fee for applicants  ling early is $475. Michigan $625 fee for non-attorneys does not include  ngerprint fee.
Mississippi Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $525 if applicant  led a law student registration and $825 if applicant did not  le a law student registration. Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for 6 months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his or her 18th birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons) must complete an NCBE report and pay the NCBE report fee.
Missouri Bar exam fee for non-attorneys and attorneys is $485 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri but did apply for
a character and  tness report as a 1L or 2L law student; $910 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri and did not apply for a character and  tness report as a 1L or 2L law student. Bar exam fee for repeaters is $285 if applicant failed the most recent bar examination in Missouri; $385 if applicant failed a bar examination in Missouri other than the most recent exam or failed to appear at the exam for which applicant was registered.
Montana Fees listed include the cost of application, examination, and the Montana Law Seminar.
Nebraska Bar exam fee for repeaters is $225 for the immediate next exam; $490 for third and subsequent retakes. Nevada Application fee of $60 and background report fee of $55 are in addition to the listed registration fees.
New Mexico Applicants whose law school graduation date is 1 year or less prior to  ling their applications pay an on-time application fee of $500. All others pay an on-time application fee of $1,000. If applicable, applicants are responsible for the costs associated with investigations and hearings. The $100 retake fee is available for 1 year after the  rst unsuccessful examination. After that year, an unsuccessful applicant pays the full application fee.
New York The bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $250 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a  rst degree in law from an ABA-approved law school, law of ce study, or a combination of a  rst degree in law from an unapproved law school in the United States and practice; the fee is $750 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a foreign law school study. There is also a separate $375 attorney registration fee that must be paid prior to admission and every 2 years thereafter.
North Carolina For applications  led prior to June 30, 2018: $700 for non-attorneys, $1,500 for attorneys. For applications  led on or after June 30, 2018: $850 for non-attorneys, $1,650 for attorneys.
26 Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements 2018


































































































   36   37   38   39   40