Page 46 - CompGuide_2017_WEB 011817
P. 46

Supplemental Remarks

        What is your time limit for accepting a UBE score (i.e., maximum age of the UBE score)?

         Alabama The transferred UBE score will be valid for a period of 25 months after taking the UBE in the jurisdiction in which the transferred score
         was earned.
         Alaska 5 years preceding the date of application to the Alaska Bar Association.
         Arizona 5 years prior to taking oath in Arizona.
         Colorado Applicants with UBE scores older than 3 but less than 5 years may apply for admission based on the UBE score plus a period of active
         law practice for at least 2 years immediately preceding Colorado application.
         Iowa Within 2 to 5 years of application filing date upon showing proof of regular practice of law for 2 of the last 3 years immediately preceding the
         application filing date.
         Kansas 36 months preceding date of application.
         Massachusetts 36 months from the date of the exam administration in which the score was earned.
         Missouri 24 months preceding date of the application.
         Nebraska 5 years from UBE score release date.
         New Hampshire An applicant who earned a UBE score more than 3 years but less than 5 years prior to the date the motion for admission by
         transferred UBE score was filed must establish that he or she has been primarily engaged in the active practice of law for at least 2 years in
         another state, territory, or the District of Columbia, in which the applicant was a member in good standing and authorized to practice law during the
         entire 2-year period.
         New Mexico 36 months prior to the date of application to the New Mexico Bar.
         New York 3 years from the date of the second day of the UBE taken in the other UBE jurisdiction.
         North Dakota 2 years from the date of the exam in the jurisdiction where UBE score was earned.
         South Carolina For a UBE administered in February, this 3-year period shall begin on March 1st following the examination; for a UBE adminisĀ­
         tered in July, this 3-year period shall begin on August 1st following the examination.
         Utah Utah accepts all UBE scores earned within 24 months of the date of application. For applicants with UBE scores that are older than 24
         months, Utah will accept UBE scores for up to 5 years with proof of the full-time practice of law.
         Vermont 3 years before the date of application for admission to the Vermont Bar. Or, more than 3 years but less than 5 years before the date of
         application to the Vermont Bar if the applicant has been actively engaged in the practice of law in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 2 years and
         is in good standing.
         West Virginia 3 years preceding the date of application to the West Virginia Board of Law Examiners.

        What is the minimum passing UBE score?

          Idaho The 272 minimum passing UBE score is effective with the February 2017 exam administration, replacing a score of 280. Applicants
          transferring a UBE score earned prior to the February 2017 exam administration must have earned a minimum score of 280.

        Do you require completion of a jurisdiction-specific component before admission?

         Alabama Online course on Alabama law is required for applicants seeking admission by examination or by UBE score transfer.
         Arizona Online course on Arizona law is required prior to admission for all applicants.
         Massachusetts Massachusetts law component is under development.
         Missouri Rules require an open-book online test, the Missouri Educational Component Test (MECT), for applicants to complete as a condition of
         licensure. Review materials are posted to assist applicants.

         Montana Montana Law Seminar attendance is required prior to admission. The course is offered the day after the bar exam.
         New Mexico One-day, in-person course on New Mexico law is required prior to admission.
         New York Online course (NYLC) and online exam (NYLE) on New York law is required prior to admission for applicants seeking admission on
         examination or by UBE score transfer.

         South Carolina Must complete online Course of Study on South Carolina Law prior to admission.
         Washington Washington Law Component (WLC) is an open-book, timed, online multiple-choice test with Washington-specific study materials
         available online to review prior to and during the test.

        Do you require passage of the MPRE?

          New Jersey New Jersey applicants may satisfy the ethics requirement by earning a passing score in an approved law school ethics course.

34 Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements 2017
   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51