Page 36 - CompGuide_2017_WEB 011817
P. 36

Supplemental Remarks

         Alabama No fee shall be required for law student registration if the registration form is filed within the first 60 days following the commencement
         of the study of law. After 60 days the fee is $50, after 180 days the fee is $100, and after 390 days the fee is $250. Any applicant for admission (by
         examination, UBE score transfer, or reciprocity) will be required to pay a law student nonregistration fee of $250 if the applicant has never regis­
         tered as a law student with the Alabama State Bar.

         California Bar exam fees are separate from moral character application. A positive moral character determination is valid for 3 years. Thus, if a
         repeater has positive determination on file, the exam fee would be $677 (general applicant) or $983 (attorney applicant).

         Delaware For applications filed on or before April 1: $700 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdiction and for repeaters; $800 for applicants
         admitted in another jurisdiction. For applications filed after April 1 but on or before May 15: $1,400 for applicants not admitted in another jurisdic­
         tion and for repeaters; $1,600 for applicants admitted in another jurisdiction and for repeaters.

         Florida The law student registration fee is $400. Discounted early law student registration fees are available: $100 for those who commence in
         August or September and file by January 15; $350 for those who commence in August or September and file by March 15. Law students also pay a
         $600 fee to convert the student registration to an application in the final year of law school. Bar exam fee for attorneys is $1,600 for those admitted
         more than 1 year but less than 5 years; $2,000 for those admitted 5 or more years but less than 10 years; $2,400 for those admitted 10 or more
         years but less than 15 years; $3,000 for those admitted 15 or more years.

         Georgia There is a separate fee for the Application for Certification of Fitness to Practice Law. The fee ranges from $400 to $900 depending
         upon the status of the applicant at the time of submission. The applicant must apply for and receive Certification of Fitness to Practice Law prior to
         submitting an application for the bar examination.

         Idaho Bar exam fee for repeaters is $200 for the first 3 exams; $300 for each subsequent one.

         Illinois Bar exam fee is based on whether or not the applicant has previously filed an application for the Illinois exam, had filed character and
         fitness registration as a 1L, is repeating the exam, or was absent from an exam. Fee ranges from $950 to $1,450, except for repeaters, for whom
         range is from $500 to $800. Deadline ranges for repeaters are November 1 to December 15 for the February exam, and May 1 to May 15 for the
         July exam.

         Louisiana Bar exam application fee is $750 for first-time applicants who participated in the Law Student Registration program; $875 for all
         applicants other than those who participated in the Law Student Registration program.

         Maine Bar exam fee for non-attorneys includes those admitted less than 1 year in another jurisdiction.

         Maryland The $525 bar exam fee applies to timely filing. The fee for applicants filing early is $475.

         Michigan $625 fee for non-attorneys does not include fingerprint fee.

         Mississippi Bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $525 if applicant filed a law student registration and $825 if applicant did not file a law student
         registration. Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for 6 months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his
         or her 18th birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons) must complete an NCBE report and pay the NCBE
         report fee.

         Missouri Bar exam fee for non-attorneys and attorneys is $485 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri but did apply for
         a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student; $910 if never previously registered for a bar examination in Missouri and did not apply for
         a character and fitness report as a 1L or 2L law student. Bar exam fee for repeaters is $285 if applicant failed the most recent bar examination in
         Missouri; $385 if applicant failed a bar examination in Missouri other than the most recent exam or failed to appear at the exam for which applicant
         was registered.

         Montana Fees listed include the cost of application, examination, and the Montana Law Seminar.

         Nebraska Bar exam fee for repeaters is $225 for the immediate next exam; $490 for third and subsequent retakes.

         Nevada Application fee of $60 and background report fee of $55 are in addition to the listed registration fees.

         New Mexico Applicants whose law school graduation date is 1 year or less prior to filing their applications pay an application fee of $500. All
         others pay $1,000. If applicable, applicants are responsible for the costs associated with investigations and hearings. The $100 retake fee is
         available for 1 year after the first unsuccessful examination. After that year, an unsuccessful applicant pays the full application fee.

         New York The bar exam fee for non-attorneys is $250 for applicants qualifying on the basis of a first degree in law from an ABA-approved law
         school, law office study, or a combination of a first degree in law from an unapproved law school in the United States and practice; the fee is $750
         for applicants qualifying on the basis of a foreign law school study. There is also a separate $375 attorney registration fee that must be paid prior to
         admission and every 2 years thereafter.

         North Dakota The NCBE investigation fee of $225 is required upon timely filing of the law student registration. A $90 supplemental investigation
         fee is paid to NCBE when applying to sit for the bar exam. No law student registration fee is paid to North Dakota, if timely filed. Late law student
         registration fees, ranging from $150 to $400, are paid to North Dakota if a registration is untimely filed. A registration filed by October 1 of the sec­
         ond year of law school or no later than 14 months after the first day of the first year of law school is considered timely.

         Rhode Island A fee of $725 is required for all retakes. Applicants can defer to the next bar examination upon payment of a $300 deferral fee.
         MBE scores will be transferred upon payment of $25.

24 Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements 2017
   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41