Page 15 - CompGuide_2017_WEB 011817
P. 15

South Dakota Prior to admission must be a resident, maintain an office in the state, or designate the clerk of the Supreme Court as agent for
service of process for all purposes.

Virginia All applicants are required to document their citizenship and/or current immigration status.

Is registration of law students required?

Alabama Within 60 days of starting law school.
California Within 90 days of starting law school.
Florida Law students are encouraged, but not required, to register in the first year of law school.
Iowa By January 15 of the year after the person commences the study of law in an accredited law school.
Mississippi By October 1 of applicant’s second year of law school.
North Dakota Law students must file a registration application by October 1 of the second year of law school, or 14 months after the first day of
the first year of law school.

Ohio By November 15 in the applicant’s second year of law school.
Oklahoma By October 15 of the year following the year in which law study was commenced.
Texas Within approximately 60 days after entry into an approved Texas law school. Does not apply to graduates from approved law schools in
other states.

Are law students eligible to take the bar examination before graduation?

Arizona Arizona allows law students in their third year of study to test prior to graduation if they: 1) are currently enrolled in good standing at a law
school fully or provisionally accredited by the ABA; 2) are expected to graduate within 120 days of the first day of early exam; 3) have satisfied all
requirements for graduation except for not more than 8 semester hours at the time of early exam; 4) are not enrolled in more than 2 semester hours
during the month of early exam and the immediately preceding month; 5) are determined by their school to be academically prepared for early
testing; and 6) provide by the exam application deadline to the Committee on Character and Fitness an affidavit attested to by the applicant and the
Dean of his or her law school that the above criteria are met. Applicants for early testing have an additional 60 days after award of J.D. to provide
evidence that their J.D. was conferred within 120 days of the first day of test administration.

District of Columbia A law student may complete and submit the bar application before receiving his or her degree; but he or she must, before
the date of the examination, submit a certification from the law school dean showing that he or she has graduated.

Indiana Applicants who have fewer than 5 credit hours to complete, are within 100 days of graduation, have completed 2 hours of professional
responsibility, and have completed all requirements for admission to the bar may sit.

Iowa Must receive degree within 45 days after the first day of the examination.
Kansas Must graduate within 30 days after the bar examination.
Kentucky Must have completed degree requirements prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.
Maryland As long as the applicant is “unqualifiedly eligible” for graduation prior to the first day of the bar exam, the actual graduation date may
post-date the exam.

Mississippi Must complete all work required for degree within 60 days of the examination.
Missouri Must have completed all degree requirements prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.
New York To be eligible to sit for the bar exam, a J.D. applicant must present requisite proof that the applicant: (a) graduated with the J.D. degree;
or (2) completed all work required for graduation, although the degree will not be conferred prior to exam; or (c) was accepted into the Pro Bono
Scholars Program.

North Carolina Must graduate within 30 days after exam or must have completed all requirements for graduation prior to taking bar examination,
although degree may not have been conferred.

Oregon An applicant may sit for the Oregon Bar Examination prior to graduation if he or she 1) is currently enrolled in good standing at a law
school approved by the ABA; 2) is expected to graduate within 120 days of sitting for the examination; 3) has satisfied all graduation requirements
to earn a J.D. degree or Bachelor of Law degree except law school coursework other than bar examination preparation courses during the 8 weeks
prior to date the examination is held; and 4) has submitted timely a properly signed Affidavit for Examination on the form provided in the Rules for
Admission of Attorneys in Oregon, certifying that the applicant is academically prepared to take the examination.

Texas Must be within 4 semester hours of completing all requirements for graduation.
Vermont In 2016, Vermont adopted an early examination option for law students who have completed the equivalent of 5 semesters of full-time
study. The applicant must graduate from an approved law school within 6 months of sitting for the exam.

Virginia Must have completed all requirements for graduation prior to taking bar examination, although degree may not have been conferred.
West Virginia Board may permit applicant to take examination where applicant qualifies for degree but will not receive it before examination.
Board may permit examination in last semester of law school upon showing of scheduled active duty overseas at time of July examination.

Wisconsin Must receive degree within 60 days after examination.

                                                                                                                                                              CHART I: Basic Information 3
   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20